The Man Who Would Kill Death: “Malaria” Short Film

Hope you don’t mind me reblogging this, but this is the most mind-blowing thing I’ve seen in a while. Thanks for all the fantastic stuff you post!

This gorgeous short film about a gunslinger hired to kill death uses traditional techniques of origami and kirigami paper manipulation to transform static comic book panels into innovative cinematic art.  The fascinating approach to animation is only enhanced by a heck of a good Wild West yarn spun by writer and director Edson Oda.   Definitely worth a watch, kittens.  Enjoy!

Malaria Short Film

(via io9)

Related Posts

– Friday Night Features: “The Backwater Gospel”

– Here Is a List of Terrible Things: 5 Under-the-Radar Horror Films to Watch Now

– Dark Clouds Will Gather ‘Round Me: Town of Ghosts

View original post

4 Comments

  1. I try to use the reblog feature as if it were weapons-grade plutonium: sparingly and only when absolutely called for . . . and this is one of those times to break the codes out of the briefcase and unleash billowing mushroom clouds of awesome.

    Everyone should check out The Year of Halloween, there’s always some amazing content there.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go pick grey matter out of my keyboard . . .

  2. Awww, you. If I had any blood, I’d be blushing.

  3. This is absolutely incredible! The coupling of graphic novel elements and cinema and origami … are you freaking kidding me? What a creative badass! Thank you for reposting. And thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • That is seriously the most creative thing I’ve seen in a good while. And I can’t take credit for it, make sure you check out Eva’s blog, there’s plenty more really wild stuff there.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

